So what’s next for the cellphone?

Well, after using my LG Rumor for several months, I’ve came to the conclusion that it’s a great phone. I can browse the web (albeit slowly), I can text, and I can talk. Hell, I can even play some kick-ass games like Baldur’s gate and Age of Heroes. There’s the standard apps like NFL Mobile or NASCAR Mobile, but those are all over the place. Although there are all these good things, I’m still missing something.

The thing that I’ve been searching for might be around the corner, or it might already be here.

apple2The iPhone
The iPhone is a nice device. It’s pretty. It’s simple. It’s neat. It is definately revolutionary in the world of convergant devices. Just like Apple. Just like the iPod. Of course the iPod is still considered the standard in music players, or there wouldn’t be things coming out as the next iPod killer, now would there. I “had” an iPod, and it was nice. My wife still has hers. The HDD went out, and I wasn’t going to waste the money to buy another “normal” device. I upgraded to an actual media player. It costs just as much, and plays more formats, and has much better video options. Apple, to me, is a company creating awesome devices, and puching the technology into the next phase. But the iPhone is not for me. I don’t like AT&T/Cingular, and to be honest, I don’t like the way the iPhone works. It’s a great device don’t get me wrong, “I” just don’t like it. I’ve never owned one, but from what EVERYONE with one MUST show me…I’m not interested.

bbRIM/Blackberry
Blackberries, Crackberries, or plain ole Berries. They brought “push” e-mail to the world of business. To be connected to your work like an actual computer..to have access to work 24/7. I already have that with my phone. My Rumor e-mail client is set up to check for my mail once every 15 minutes. If you need something within 15 minutes, you need a vacation. Of course it’s my own e-mail, but still. Other than that, they have a wonderful OS. It’s pretty. A full QWERTY keyboard (another innovation), media/music player, and an OK browser. I’ve never owned one, but seeing those around and the few friends with one…It looks good. I’ll have to do more research, and maybe try one out.

palmPalm
Palm has been around for a while…a LONG while. Before Windows Mobile. Before RIM. Before the iPod or iPhone. It started as a touch screen PDA, got upgraded a few times. The OS modified for the Sony Clie line of PDAs. It was put on the Treo line of phones (for RIM competition), then just kinda fell on it’s face. I LOVE the simplicity…the speed. It works. It works well, but it’s not pretty, and there are a few things that PC users expect from the OS that isn’t there. I had a Treo, and I’ve owned a few Palm PDAs. I’d like to trade my x51v for a T|X, but I’m waiting. For what? The new Palm OS “Nova”. The word around the street is that Palm will be introducing the OS, and the new phones at CES in January. If it’s nice enough, it might sway me to buy a new Palm phone. Time will tell.

wmWindows Mobile
WM has been around since the CE days. It’s now on a lot of big phones. The Treo, HTC, etc. It’s on my x51v. It was on my hx4700…90% of my PDAs have been Windows Mobile. I’ve got programs. I’ve got games. I’ve got browsers. I’ve gotten bored of it. No more Windows mobile for me.

androidAndroid
The Android OS. Not just an Operating System…but Open Source…just like Linux. Just the way I like my programs. Gimp, Paint.NET, OpenOffice.org, Stellarium, Steam. All open source, all freely available for anyone to do anything with it. As long as it works, and is relatively bug free, it’s in. You don’t like something, or want to make something for it, do it. It’s not illegal. It’s needed. The thing I’m waiting on is for Android to come out on the Sprint Network. But there’s a catch. With Sprint, they like to keep absolute control over what can or cannot be installed to their phones. I can’t just add any ringtone. I can’t add just any app, or any wallpaper. It has to be approved by Sprint. This is NOT compatible with Open Source. From what rumors have been going around, a Sprint Android phone will be out in 09…as long as the CEO thinks it’s ready. Ummm, lets see. The G1 is on the T-Mobile network and works great (according to the 3 guys I know with one.) Any app, any background, any music, any ringtone, etc. Anything they want to use…it’s there. I’m waiting, Sprint!

Of these, I’m leaning toward a Blackberry, Android, or the new Palm device. Since the BB is the only one out right now, looks like that is going to be the choice. However over the next few months things might shape up differently.

One Response to “So what’s next for the cellphone?”

  1. A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks

Leave a Reply

