Blackberry day 2

Well…lets just say that this phone is more complicated than any phone I have EVER used. I’ve found settings for settings, shortcuts for shortcuts, and after it’s all been said and done, I still haven’t even scratched the surface of this device’s capabilities.

One of the neat functions, for geeks anyway, is pressing “alt+NMLL”. This trick changes your signal strength from bars to actual the actual signal numbers.

I’ve had one issue. The signal strength jumps drastically…even when I know I have a full signal. Supposedly, Sprint and RIM are aware of this, and something in the OS got glitched. Your actual connection is fine. Someone said that it was because the phone is changing the way it determines the strength between data use and voice use. It’s most noticeable after quitting a data application. Regardless of what causes it, your strength is perfectly fine.

I’ve also had fun digging through and cleaning up some of the programs that I’ll never use. They say that as long as you have more than 20MB free memory you’ll be fine. I personally keep everything closed unless needed, and I sit around 41MB free. Nice and zippy.

I also found out that there are 2 versions of this phone: an 8330, and 8330m. The new version has an updated OS with a different way of working internally…a hardware difference.

There have been a couple of glitches with this, such as Google Maps. It hasn’t been updated with altered code, and instead of pinpointing your location, it shows a big circle that you “could” be in. Kind of bad, but the preinstalled maps program gets you right where you should be.

That’s all I’ve got for today. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been playing constantly for a good portion of the day, but this is all I can think of for today.

Leave a Reply

